2020 IDA and IDPAC Award Recipients

The 2020 Midwest Dental Assembly was cancelled, but IDA continues to honor and recognize those who have done an outstanding job promoting, practicing or volunteering for the field of dentistry. Below are the recipients of our 2020 Specialty Awards.


It’s not too early to begin thinking about nominations for 2021! Visit our Awards page to learn more and to recognize excellence in your colleagues and friends of dentistry.


Dr. Lloyd J. Phillips Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Timothy Shambaugh

Nominee(s) for the award are IDA member(s), who tirelessly work to improve the oral health of the less fortunate population by removing the geographic or demographic barriers such as age, race, religion and socioeconomic status. This recipient(s) gives of their time, energy and skills either globally or closer to home, spending hours and personal resources to help fight dental disease.


Special Service Award

Kay Maddox

This award is presented to non-dentists who have made significant contributions to the health profession in general and/or the dental profession in particular.



Charles W. Gish Community Dental Health Award

Tammy Jones and Mary Briscoe

This award recognizes Indiana citizen(s) who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and involvement leading to significant improvement and/or positive impact in the overall dental health within a given community.



Rising Star Award

Dr. Rachel Dunlop

This award is to recognize an IDA member in practice for ten years or less, who demonstrates outstanding leadership ability and initiative. Nominees should possess leadership qualities and promote future accomplishments in the dental profession. Volunteer activities in the community and organized dentistry will be considered.



Leadership Achievement Award

Dr. David Holwager

First presented in May 1996 to Dr. Charles E. Hassel, 1995-1996 IDA President, for his leadership and communication skills managed through a difficult transition of IDA Executive Directors. Today we honor Dr. Hassel and the leadership qualities exhibited by highlighting an IDA Member Trustee, Officer and 7th District Delegation who have been an ambassador for the continued success and achievement of the IDA.



Maynard K. Hine Award

Dr. Denny Zent

This award was created by the May 1985 House of Delegates. It is limited to individuals who have made contributions to the dental and/or health profession in general on a national and/or international basis.



IDPAC Dr. Russell L. Heyde Legacy Award

Northwest Indiana Dental Society

This award is given by IDPAC to an individual dentist who has shown extraordinary service in the grassroots development or political action.


IDPAC Dr. Don Scroggins Award

Dr. Steven Holm

This award is given by IDPAC to an outstanding Political Advocate for Dentistry. 


IDPAC Norwin M. Niles Award

Representative Cindy Kirchhofer

This award is given by IDPAC in recognition of special knowledge and dedication to legislative excellence. 


IDPAC Dr. Raymond M. Maddox Legacy Award

Dr. Timothy Treat

This award is given by IDPAC to a member dentist for excellent in advocacy for oral health who is a new dentist advocate (0-10 years out) who is an IDPAC donor.




Your Cart